RSS Feed

Mt. Madonna, here i come

Posted on

… not to join a religious order nor to ascent into heaven. For the next week I’ll be at a rural retreat center located on 355 acres of mountain-top redwood forest and grassland overlooking Monterey Bay to learn about Mindfulness-Based Stress Reduction in Body-Mind Medicine (MBSR) with Jon Kabat-Zinn. This is a once-a-year opportunity and I’m pretty excited. The schedule is looks strangely like Zen monastic training. We’ll be sitting on meditation cushions (bring your own), eat vegetarian, and study for seven days from 06:00 till 21:30 with very short pauses. Yikes! What do I get myself into?

I won’t be posting while I’m away. Please visit again after Monday, February 14. May your life go well.

2 responses »

  1. Hi Peter have a wonderful experience. I will see you when I get back as I am leaving for Nicaragua for 3 weeks on Tuesday. Take care, ella

    Reply

Leave a Reply

