RSS Feed

‘nothing’ to say

Posted on

“I noticed that you don’t post every day,” Ella said the other day, “I check every morning.” Thank you, I bowed, but some days I have nothing to say. “You? I find that hard to believe.” 

Here’s the quandary. I’m committed to post every day as part of walking the path of a bodhisattva, determined to awaken for the benefit of all beings. I’m also practising silent speech, to hold my clever words unless they can improve upon the silence, as the expression goes.

To speak (blog) or be silent? Upon reflection, it’s not so much a quandary than an opportunity to notice the trap of duality, this human habit of seeing things as opposites, as either/or. The moment I realize this, non-duality dissolves and I see how easy it is to create suffering — and what a relief it is to open the hand and let thing be/go.

He who speaks does not know, writes Lao-tsu, he who knows does not speak.

image:void of silence

Leave a Reply

