RSS Feed

words of encouragement

Posted on

(further to yesterday’s post)

My inside, listen to me, the greatest spirit,
the Teacher, is near,
wake up, wake up!

Run to his feet —
he is standing close to your head right now.

You have slept for millions and millions of years.

Why not wake up this morning?

By Kabir, a fifteenth-century son of a Muslem weaver in Benares whose spiritual growth was influenced by Sufi poets and the ideas of the Hindus. source: Bly, R. (1977). The Kabir book: forty-four of the ecstatic poems of Kabir. Beacon Press, p. 13. image credit: “Waking Sleep” by Saskia Ozols Eubanks, oil on canvas, 60 x 27, at http://www.sorengallery.com.

One response »

  1. Peter I am not sure if my comment is more appropriate for yesterday’s post but since the two are connected, I thought I would leave it here. It is a short story really. My parents are in their 70’s and still farming. They live without electricity far out of town in north central B.C. with a heard of cattle for daily company. The other week my aunt asked my dad how long he thought he was going to live. Dad cocks his head slightly to one side and says “oh, I don’t know… maybe 84 or 85. Why?” My aunt holds up her soft sewing measuring tape and says “see this long danglingly piece hanging down here? That is the represents the years you have already lived. See this short piece stretched tight between my hands. That represents the years you think you have left to live. If there is something besides delivering calves you want to do – you had best be getting on with it!”

    Why not wake up this morning? Seems like as good a place to start as any. I think I shall take you up on that.

    Thank you as always for your thought provoking and inspiring posts. Terrill

    Reply

Leave a Reply

