RSS Feed

big mind

Posted on

Year after year
          I dug in the earth
                    looking for the blue of heaven
only to feel
          the pile of dirt
                    choking me
until once in the dead of night
          I tripped on a broken brick
                    and kicked it into the air
and saw that without a thought
          I had smashed the bones
                    of the empty sky.

Toki-no-Ge (Satori Poem) by Muso Soseki (1275 – 1351) in Sun at Midnight: Poems and Sermons, translated by W. S. Merwin; found at www.Poetry-Chaikhana.com

3 responses »

  1. lol you quick healer you… welcome back! i like this poem a lot. thanks. xx

    Reply
  2. Welcome back, Peter

    Reply
  3. I really like this poem, to show that always focusing on the sky above can lead me to miss the dirt and rocks under my feet. Thanks for sharing this.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

