RSS Feed

a child’s mind

Posted on

”Every child is an artist. The problem is to remain an artist once we grow up.”
Pablo Picasso (1881-1973), Spanish artist and painter

Colourful and idyllic, direct and unpretentious: two drawings currently adorn my home. The first by my god-daughter Orla (age 5, signed also on behalf of her sister Amelie, age 3) this summer after we visited the children’s zoo and as a farewell gift before they returned to Scotland:

And this one by Jen’s daughter Desirae (almost 6) in anticipation of going to a farm to pick out a pumpkin and in recognition, I imagine, of my recent muscle toning arising from thrice-weekly workouts:

What gifts tHese are: childrEn and their drawinGs.

Did I ever know how to draw like that? If I did, what happened to that talent? Now I go to art school and, after taking  Drawing 101 twice, still think that “I can’t draw.” How do you keep spontaneity alive?

One response »

  1. Monthly ‘dates’ with my 10 year old grandson certainly bring me back to the immediacy of life….seeing the world through a child’s eyes is a gift.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

