RSS Feed

i am not i (monday poem)

Posted on

I am not I.
                                           I am this one
Walking beside me whom I do not see,
Whom at times I manage to visit,
And at other times I forget.
The one who remains silent when I talk,
The one who forgives, sweet, when I hate,
The one who takes a walk when I am indoors,
The one who will remain standing when I die.

Juan Ramón Jiménez (1881-1958), Andalusian writer, Nobel Laureate in Literature (1956). source: (1992). The rag and bone shop of the heart: poems for men. HarperCollinsPublishers, p. 367, translated by Robert Bly. image: fcom.us.es.

3 responses »

  1. This post reminds me so much of Kirtana’s song, “Mundaka.”

    Here’s a part of it (Taken directly from the Mundaka Upanishad):

    “We are two birds, perched on one tree.
    You eat the fruit of this world’s pleasure and pain
    while I look on.
    I’m the one who is standing by you
    When you die it is I who remain.

    Eyes cannot see, nor speech describe me.
    Not be reason nor by effort am I known.
    Not by ritual, nor by merit,
    but by the grace of the Self, the Self is shown”

    If you haven’t heard her sing, you might want to take a peek at her website: http://www.kirtana.com/kirtana.html

    And… thank you for another amazing post! 🙂 You are touching upon some profound truths my friend.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

