RSS Feed

bless the waves of possibility

Posted on

For more than a year I’ve posted a weekly Sunday Poem and many have written to say that they liked the poems themselves as well as discovering ‘new’ poets. As I emerge from 16 days of disabling nerve pain, I return to our tradition with words by John O’Donohue (1956-2008), the Irish ex-priest, poet, philosopher, and mystic.

With deep bows of gratitude I offer his blessing “On waking” to all who care for me and keep me in their thoughts. May all who suffer be blessed with friends who extend moments of compassion and kindness. Such offerings–be they in the form of deed, touch, or word–give comfort that runs deep; right to the heart. Subtext: You are not alone.  

I thank all who have brought me loving kindness in its many forms, from home-cooked lentil soup, seasonally decorated cookies, couscous, carrot soup, to fruit “to keep you regular,” transport to appointments, Healing Touch treatment in my home, sitting for 9 hours in emergency with me, delivering videos, milk, and bananas, researching medications, finding a competent doctor, and simply being there for me. Aside from the obvious, your gifts are teaching me about being vulnerable, accepting help, and enjoying being cared for.

I give thanks for arriving
Safely in a new dawn,
For the gift of eyes
To see the world,
The gift of mind
To feel at home
In my life.
The waves of possibility
Breaking on the shore of dawn,
The harvest of the past
That awaits my hunger,
And all the furtherings
This new day will bring.

source: O’Donohue, J. (2008). To bless the space between us. New York: Doubleday, p.94. image: see Comment.

2 responses »

  1. regarding the image of bowing, source: http://www.browardzen.com/schedule.html:

    In the Zen tradition we acknowledge the unity of all things by bowing. We bow to each other, bringing our palms together (symbolizing the separation of the two, becoming one), then bowing to each other (acknowledging our true oneness, rather than our usual dualistic view of being separate from each other). When we do a full bow, we place our forehead on the floor, with our hands palms up on either side of our head, raising our palms to slightly above the level of our head (symbolizing raising the Buddha mind – the enlightened mind – above our restricted mind of dualistic thinking).

    Reply
  2. This poem touched me deeply.
    I sent it to everybody I know.
    Good you feel up to its positive energy.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

