RSS Feed

nursing a bad heartache

Posted on

holly williamsHolly Williams is the daughter and granddaughter of the Hank Williams’. I heard her for the first time on NPR this morning and one of her lines went straight for my heart: I’ve paid my dues, honey, you can keep the change. I feel as if another chunk of grief has fallen away, another layer of longing-for-what-is-no-more slipped off my carapace. Enough already!

Cast open the windows, Break down the blinds
I’m sick of hidin’ from the sweet sunshine
Cause it ain’t, it ain’t gettin’ me nowhere
I’ve been locked up in this town for way too long
I’m sittin’ around singin sad sad songs
And it ain’t, ain’t gettin’ me nowhere
 

It’s been a long time comin, l’m jumping
off this reckless pity train
I’m all cashed out on your lovin’
I’ve paid my dues honey, you can keep the change.

I know how to nurse a bad heartache,
I can make it worse if I wanna feel the pain,
but it ain’t, ain’t gettin’ me nowhere.  
… more

Leave a Reply

