RSS Feed

4 noble truths (a survey)

Posted on


Shakyamuni (Gautama Siddartha) was born some 2500 years ago in what is now Nepal. Called the Buddha by his followers (Enlightened One), he taught the Four Noble Truths:

1. Life contains dissatisfaction (suffering).
2. The origin of suffering is attachment.
3. The cessation of suffering is attainable.
4. There is an eight-fold path to help end suffering.

Click here for a brief elaboration. The blog mechanism will count the number of such clicks (but not your identity). Depending on interest, I’d like to explore how these Truths work in everyday living. Thank you for your feedback.


2 responses »

  1. Suffering is part of life, I agree. But to wish to escape it is to wish that we had made different choices in life. Choices that would have led to different outcomes. Given the chance to rewind time I would make the same choices I made then. What does that say?

    • if if if. there’s no escaping that which has come and gone. no point trying to reset the clock. such attempts only create new suffering. take it from one who tried. all i know (and can suggest) is to face and welcome that which is … over and over … and listen to that which has to be learned.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: