RSS Feed

waking up

Posted on

gasshoThis morning I did something I’ve done before but not commented on. As I woke up and stumbled out of bed, seeing the sun up and hearing gulls crying overhead, I stood next to my bed and bowed. Hands in “gassho” (palms together, held just above the heart in front of me), I bowed deeply. What was that about?

All this happened well before my thinking cap was on straight and so I assume it popped up from other than the “i think therefore i am” department. Upon reflection, it take it as my whole being’s way of saying, thank you for waking up once more; thank you for another day to be in this world; thank you for the awareness of being alive. Psalm 57 says:

My heart is ready,
I mean to sing and play for you,
I mean to wake the dawn!

And Rumi speaks to it as well:

Today, like every other day, we wake up empty
and frightened. Don’t open the door to the study
and begin reading. Take down a musical instrument.

Let the beauty we love be what we do.
There are hundreds of ways to kneel and kiss the ground.

May we be thank/ful for whatever is right in front of us. Happiness, joy, and good fortune: thank you. Pain, loneliness, and heartache: thank you. May all be our teachers today.

source: The Essential Rumi, translations by Coleman Barks with John Moyne, 1995. image: Seattle Nichiren Buddhist Church.

2 responses »

  1. thank you for the reminder, peter
    i carry this thankfulness in my heart, but i like the actual physical act of acknowledging it.
    a respectful way to start the day.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

