RSS Feed

our monday poem (david whyte)

Posted on

For the last two mornings I’ve sat with a group of yoga students on retreat. We meditated mostly in silence … embracing great-dane1the chatter of three male ducks, the bark of a puppy named Gunnar, and my incantations to guide us. Rising and falling, notice your breath. Expanding contracting, breathe with your heart. This moment, and this …

I have only this breath
and this presence
for my wings
and they carry me
in my body
whatever I do
from one hushed moment
to another

Excerpt from “What I must tell myself.” © 2004 David Whyte. In: The house of belonging. Langley, WA: Many Rivers Press, p. 15.

One response »

  1. from N.P.:

    i kinda like this part best…

    “Life turns like a slow river
    and suddenly you are there
    at the edge of the water
    with all the rest”

    – Whyte

    Reply

Leave a Reply

