RSS Feed

relinquishing control

Posted on

tao-coverThere’s much in yesterday’s post to ruminate on. Two people sent comments for which I’m grateful. The Tao te ching, a 2500-year old book of Chinese wisdom, is quite clear on our topic–

The caregiver does her job
and then stops.
She understands that the universe
is forever out of control,
and that trying to dominate events
goes against the currents of the way things are.

source: Mitchell, S. (1988). Tao te ching by Lao-Tzu. Translation with foreword and notes. HarperPerennial, no. 30. NB: In the first line, I’ve changed the translator’s “master” to “caregiver;” in the last line “the Way” to “the way things are.” Also exchanged “she” for “he.”

One response »

  1. Thank you for this wonderful wisdom that I will use to guide me in my caregiving role with my mother. Although I may try, I cannot fix her unhappiness. I can be there to listen, however.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

