RSS Feed

monkey minds

Posted on

By the time you read this, twelve of us will be sitting in a small sanctuary on Mayne Island for a long day of meditation. We’ll be sitting, walking, and standing–paying attention to our breath, thoughts, sensations, and feeling. Part of the day will be spent in “just being” outside, also work practice to help maintain the garden and forest that holds us and all who’ll come long after we’re gone.

If you don’t have a whole day to join us (where you are), please take a few deliberate minutes to find a quiet place, perhaps light a candle, and sit still. Notice your body, observe your breath as it enters, turns, and exits. Again and again, with patience and kindness towards yourself.

A day of silence
Can be a pilgrimage in itself.

A day of silence
Can help you listen

To the soul play
Its marvellous lute and drum.

Is not most talking
A crazed defence of a crumbling fort?

source: Ladinsky. D. (1990). I Heard God Laughing: Renderings of HafizWalnut Creek, CA: Sufism Reoriented.

2 responses »

  1. Dear Peter –
    The retreat yesterday was wonderful. I find they help to focus and calm my energy. In particular, I was able to really notice my breathe; you said to just notice any thought that came into our mind, and then just breathe; I did find that a wonderful way of being with my thoughts.
    Blessings –
    Dawne

    Reply
  2. Peter, I also want to thank you for yesterday. I was behaving like a whiny little baby raccoon in the morning when the alarm went off at 5:30 am… “no! no I don’t want to get up!” I said. But I did and once I was walking down the hill to greet your smiling face I was ever so glad that I had left my grumpy baby raccoon-self at home and had come to spend the day in silence – which is what I needed most. Thank you for the gifts you give. Thank you to Dawne for all her work in making our day happen. Thank you also to the others who were present:)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

