RSS Feed

see!

Posted on

light-and-darkThe third day of having a cold. I’d hoped to go back to work last night but found out that there’s a new rule in effect: if you have a cold, stay away for five days to let the infection run its course. It’s for the benefit of patients and coworkers, of course.

Another paradox waiting to be a teacher to me: be of service by staying away. This tension of opposites offers opportunity for practicing compassion. By embracing seeming contradictions, by recognizing and welcoming my own greediness (i.e. to go to Hospice so that I can do the work and be with the people I love), I witness my heart expanding. 

“Within light there is darkness, but do not try to understand that darkness; within darkness there is light, but do not look for that light …” ~From Identity of relative and absolute by Sekito Kisen, Chinese Zen master, 700-790 CE.

image: http://www.schoolofeclecticart.com

Leave a Reply

