RSS Feed

no limbs, no limits

Posted on

This post comes from a regular reader of this blog: Nancy McPhee works as an organizational consultant and lives on Galiano Island. 

nick-vujicic1When someone sent me a youtube link with the subject “finish strong,” I did what has become second nature: I clicked. What I saw really shook me. I’d never heard of Nick Vujicic. After watching a clip of a talk he gave to a group of students, I googled for more. What I found humbled me.  

It took me a bit to get past the religious references. Once I did, and truly listened to what this extraordinary young man was talking about, I realized how incredibly fortunate we are to be here. In whatever capacity, we are given the gift to step into our potential. I read recently “to be born here is to be chosen;” if that is true, then I have a responsibility to do my best. Just like Nick, we are here for a reason and do the best we can with what we have.

Nick says that we should not compare sufferings. Right, I thought: the reality is that I can’t compare any of me with anything else. I am me; you are you. You and I do the best we can. What is there to complain about?

[Or what shall we do when we’re done complaining? peter]

Click here to watch a “60 Minutes” segment. 

3 responses »

  1. dawne asked: what is a ‘mundmaler?’
    i love his painting
    dawne

    Reply
  2. dawne: someone who paints ny holding brush in his mouth.

    The German language allows the precision of one word by way of compound nouns. Mundmaler would be Mouthpainter in English.

    Reply
  3. Robert Miner

    The write, above, wrote, “It took me a bit to get past the religious references. Once I did, and truly listened to what this extraordinary young man was talking about, I realized how incredibly fortunate we are to be here. ”
    It is amazing that one can seem to appear so bright, yet be so dull as to NOT hear. The religious references are the very thing that make Nick Vujicic the amazing man that he is. It is the message of God’s redeeming love through Christ that reached him, inspires him, keeps him and uses him.
    The writer’s comment about “realizing how incredibly fortunate we are to be here”, is like saying how wonderful it is to quench your thirst on a hot day by taking the ice out of the pitcher! He’s missing the best part!
    Although one may not like it, it is Jesus Who makes the difference . . . anything less is simply man’s pride of wanting to be self-sufficient and not accountable to anyone.
    Seek Him while He may be found. Call upon Him while He is near.
    Thank you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

