RSS Feed

dreams without borders

Posted on

Woke up at 2:35 a.m. to fragments of a dream. In it I’m drifting (something my mind does a lot) among crowds of people, all searching for ‘something.’ One scene finds me at an indoor market where everything imaginable is offered for sale. As the current carries me along, I encounter a series of church settings.

Briefly joining one service, I kneel to pray; upon leaving the sign says Christian. Next I’m one of many sitting silently on wooden benches in what could be a Quaker meeting-for-worship. And in the scene just before waking, I’m standing in the entrance to a Jewish or Sikh temple, listening to the cantor’s voice reciting sacred texts. 

Ken Wilber writes:

“Meditation, whether Christian, Buddhist, Hindu, Taoist, or Muslim, was invented as a way for the soul to venture inward, there ultimately to find a supreme identity with the Godhead. ‘The Kingdom of Heaven is within’–and meditation, from the very beginning, has been the royal road to that Kingdom. Whatever else it does, and it does many beneficial things, meditation is first and foremost a search for the God within.”

Wilber (b. 1949) is an American author who writes on psychology, philosophy, mysticism, ecology, and spiritual evolution. His work formulates what he calls an “integral theory of consciousness.”

source: Wilber, K. (1991). Grace and grit. Boston: Shambala Publications, p. 91. image: altar window from www.bethelbemidji.org

p.s. In many faith traditions, especially Judaism, Hinduism, and Christianity, the term “Godhead” is used to refer to the unknowable aspect of the divine.

One response »

  1. Thank you for beautifully illustrated the cross over patterns of truth within our east and west religions. I have called myself an ecumenical Christian for a long time, because I recognize there is a lot of truth in this world if we seek it with prejudice to the source.
    I posted a similar thought on my blog: http://pdxbooklover.wordpress.com/2008/03/13/whos-right-will-we-ever-know/

    I have been reading your blog on and off for a year and I am so inspired by the poetry, prose and spiritual roots of the posts. Thank you

    Reply

Leave a Reply

