RSS Feed

baby steps

Until today I assumed that everyone is as keen to talk about death and dying as I am. For four years now–first as a hospice volunteer, then a Metta Institute student, and, since early May, as spiritual care practitioner–I’ve been going on and on about it wherever I went. 

Three friends in particular, now that I think of it, have been patient recipients of my reports from the trenches. I now bow to their generosity in letting me talk through things that were important to me and probably less so to them.

Stephen Jenkinson writes that North Americans live in a “death phobic and grief illiterate” society and I seem to have made it my mission to singlehandedly change that. Chogyam Trungpa warns that “we can deceive ourselves into thinking we are developing spiritually when instead we are strengthening our egocentricity.” So much to learn.

source: Trungpa, C. (1973). Cutting through spiritual materialism. Boston: Shambala. image: pro.corbis.com

Leave a Reply

