RSS Feed

wake up!

Posted on

I’m late posting today because I went to the big city to see my long-time physician for a checkup. All’s well, he told me, but you could loose a few pounds; why not walk more! And, just as he turned off the computer, I saw a note on my chart showing a 20% statistical probability of heart disease within ten years. Several things to do with that information: panic, disregard, embrace … and walk along the ocean tonight–or any night.

Why cling to one life
till it is soiled and ragged?

The sun dies and dies
squandering a hundred lived
every instant

God has decreed life for you
and He will give
another and another and another

source: Rumi

One response »

  1. Oh, when I read this it made me recall when I had to explain death to my first son after he asked me what was going on it a war movie he didn’t like on television. It became a milestone memory for me, as this son died within 3 months of this explanation. I have since embraced many philosophies and this Rumi poem is like an extension of the Bible verse I with which I answered his question. 2 Corinthians 5:1 (Whole Chapter)
    For we know that when this earthly tent we live in is taken down (that is, when we die and leave this earthly body), we will have a house in heaven, an eternal body made for us by God himself and not by human hands.

    The difference of course is that Rumi indicates a belief in reincarnation but still I think we will attain a fully spiritual bodies once we learn the lessons of the human form.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

